top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMuses of a Herbivore

Suirokaku - Into the depths of Nanzenji

Updated: Apr 24, 2020

The morning sun filtered through the clouds and gently warmed up the quiet streets of Kyoto. The storm last night still lingered in the early morning air, and before I could change my mind, I grabbed my camera, got on my bicycle and headed east.



The thing is, before I settled in Kyoto, I was determined to do a lot of sightseeing. But after I arrived, I was too lazy to go anywhere because I knew I could go whenever I wanted. Just like that, time slipped past through my fingers like sand and now I only have less than two months left.


Reluctant to waste anymore of my precious time here in Kyoto, I headed towards my first destination; Nanzenji.



What waited for me there was something beyond my imagination. But what really captivated me wasn’t the temple itself, but the Suirokaku (水路閣), an old aqueduct tucked away in the grounds of Nanzenji. The old bricks of the aqueduct that were once vibrant had their colors absorbed by the moss that now covers it. The surrounding had an eerie blue hue due to the density of the surrounding trees, yet the flaring red of the autumn leaves filled in for the absence of sunlight.



It was beautiful.


Something about this harmony between Japanese and European architecture made it feel even more special.



Because I arrive early in the morning, there was no one else around other than myself. Something unheard of at this popular tourist destination. The absence of a crowed added in the enchanting aura of the place.



It was just me, this strange structure, and the surrounding nature.


All the doubts I had the night before dispersed in an instance. I knew I made the right decision and this affirmation makes me even more determined to visit many other places in Kyoto.



All the doubts I had the night before dispersed in an instance. I knew I made the right decision and this affirmation makes me even more determined to visit many other places in Kyoto.



Japan is a top tourist destination, but when you live here you see the beauty surrounding this country in a very different manner. Thankfully for me, I made the decision to head out on my bicycle to explore this beauty before I would regret letting my chance slipped away.

25 views0 comments
bottom of page