top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMuses of a Herbivore

Rurikouin - Surreal colours of a lacquer table

After the tiring journey and long wait, finally it was our turn to enter the much anticipated Rurikouin.



The entrance alone was very enchanting. By the time we slipped through the gates, you felt as though you were spirited away into a world of its own. The lighting changes drastically and you can feel the temperature drop. The colours surrounding us was surreal, an eerie yet comforting sensation. The scent of moss and mingled autumn shrubs, creating a perfume of unique characteristics you cannot find anywhere else. The excited chatter of people suddenly diminished to a low hush, as though one word was enough to disturb this surreal scenery.



Then we entered the house.

The house was designed with the garden in mind. There were three levels that offered a different view of the garden. I can only fathom at the genuine love for nature the architect harboured as he built this place.


The most spectacular was the room on the top floor which had a lacquered table in the middle. The colourful scenery of the garden mirrored itself on the table, filling the room with a spectrum of colours that just didn’t seem possible. The scenery was so beautiful that I completely forgot the presence of the other people around me.


I even forgot to take photos… or maybe I just felt like there was no need to because it would be impossible to capture this beauty through my camera lens. After all, it is something about the atmosphere, the air, the temperature, the smell and the sounds that contributed to the alluring beauty of that moment. A camera, a machine that can only capture the visual aspect, will never do the scene justice.


My brother urged me to take some photos, so I did. But as I expected, the photos are nowhere near satisfactory. There was just something about the different colours of light dispersing in the room that made the experience so magical. But I’m glad I took the photos because every time I look back at it, the sensation comes flooding back to me like a lucid dream.



The other gardens were phenomenal as well, displaying a different assortment of colours. But the main garden view just captivated me so much I couldn’t fully appreciate the other gardens.


I even went back a second time with my parents; despite the price, despite the wait, despite the people. Arriving at late morning the lighting offered a completely different scenery. The sunlight was more penetrating, giving attention to the well-deserving lower gardens.


Rurikouin, like a dancer with an assortment of costumes, changed its scenery according to the morning and afternoon light. This ever-changing, unpredictable characteristic of Rurikouin added to its allure. An allure that only those who have seen it with their own eyes can understand. An allure which will enchant these visitors long after they leave, enticing them to come back the same way I did.


7 views0 comments
bottom of page